Discovery Point Blog
Cobb County Kindergarten Registration
Kindergarten Registration 2016-17
Please check at your local school to verify registration hours.CLICK HERE FOR INFO. Register from 8:30-11:30AM NO AFTERNOON HOURS. Visit the Enrollment Page.
: Wed Mar 30, 2016 8:30am – 11:30am Eastern Time
The Cobb County School District (District) shall admit into its schools any individual between the ages of five (5), on or before September 1, and seventeen (17), who resides with an adult, whether a parent or guardian, within the District. All youth who reside in the District who have not attained the age of 21 by September 1 are eligible for enrollment in appropriate education programs, unless they have received a high school diploma or the equivalent. Students that have dropped out of school for one quarter or more are eligible to re-enroll unless they attain the age of 20 by September 1 (See Rule JBC-R).
To help ensure that the enrollment process for your child goes as smoothly as possible, please read carefully the following guidelines:
What School Will My Child Attend?
You can easily find out what schools serve your home or potential home by using our convenient online Bus Route Finder. Just enter your complete street address to determine the correct elementary, middle and high school. If you have further questions or need more clarification, call the Cobb County School District Transportation Office at (678) 594-8000.
Questions About Cobb Pre-K Program
The free pre-kindergarten (pre-K) program for Georgia 4 year-olds is administered by the state. Children must be 4 years old by September 1 in order to enroll. Bright from the Startadministers the nationally recognized Georgia’s Pre-K Program, licenses child care centers and home-based child care, administers federal nutrition programs, and manages voluntary quality enhancement programs.
Enrolling your child in Kindergarten?
Georgia law requires that kindergarten students be five years old on or before Sept. 1 and first grade students be six years old on or before Sept. 1 to be registered.